Thread: 2013 VXR issue

2013 VXR issue

The other day was cruising out with my wife on the bay on our 2013 VXR. She went to ride alone for a while and managed to hit a shallow spot and obviously sucked up some sand. She remembers a warning appeared, she restarted it twice and a few minutes later when I saw her the alarm was gone. I examined the intake grate and did not find anything stuck in there and the warning never came back. One thing that I noticed is that the ski top speed is reduced by about 6-7mph. The prop seems fine and there is no cavitation, plus she doesn`t remember hearing rocks being crushed by the prop or anything like that.
    I am new to the waverunner world and not quite sure where to start...Any suggestions are very appreciated!

Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    Old Hickory,Tn
    If no damage in the pump/prop area she may have run it hot with the warning buzzer going off....any Yamaha shop should be able to pull the code.....

Best to teach new riders what to do/not to do in events like this....these arent toys any more....

Brought the ski out and tested it this morning. everything is fine, top speed is like it should be. Still don`t quite understand why yesterday the top speed was reduced by 5mph. Maybe it went into some sort of a limp mode after heating up a little. Thank god everything is fine now, could have ruined almost a brand new ski.

First off, the only thing i can think thats wrong in this entire picture is let your wife drive the ski by herself......hahah im kidding..mostly...