Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Battery Maintenace

This is my first year taking care of batteries on my Seadoo. On my boat every year I would take them out and fill them with distilled water and charge every month during the winter. I took the batteries out of the skis and noticed they were a little low on water. The batteries are 2 years old now and showed no weakness during the season. Should I add water and keep them on a smart charger and try and get another year out of them or is 2 years all you get out of them>

Two years is about all you will get out of an OEM style wet cell battery. The biggest problem with them is catastrophic and sudden failure leaving in the lake. I have used nothing but Odyssey PC625 batteries for the last 15 years. My first set of two lasted 13 years. One of them was getting weaker very slowly, so I bought another pair 2 years ago. Do not use a trickle charger on an Odyssey, it will undercharge them.

I generally only get 2 years out of the OEM Yuasas. Ditch them and go for something like an Odyssey or an AGM (I'm buying a Deka in the spring).

2 yrs is a good life for a battery in Florida.
    After 2 years the batteries tend to crap out at the worst time.
    Just so you don't get stranded some where I'd replace it.

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    Elephant Butte New Mexico
    it's a good bet that you'd set a $100 on fire to avoid that kind of problem on open water

good policy for safe operation,

6. +1 by:

Ok so it seems the consensus is to get some odyssey batteries in the spring. What is the best way to maintain them. Will a smart charger keep them charged and how long can i expect to them to last.'

Just an FYI on Odyssey batteries. This was on there website regarding Seadoos.