Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Myself's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,772
    +1
    129

    Power up XLT gauges?

    Does anybody know how to power up a set of XLT1200 gauges without being able to crank over engine? It's locked up but I need to know how many hours are on the machine.


  2. #2
    Disconnect the little blue connector on wire bundle coming off the gauges. It will start right up;0)

  3. #3
    Myself's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,772
    +1
    129
    Trust me....it won't start right up. Had a lean burndown on center cylinder and the piston is melted to the cylinder. I found a wiring diagram and it seems I would need to hook power to 2 red wires, ground the black and possibly also power up a yel/red wire also.

  4. #4
    If thats the case you shouldnt have to start it. Just bump the start button for a split second the screen should still power up. I do it all the time at the gas station for the fuel gauge. The starter doesnt even have to engage for the display to come up. the blue connector disconnect was for the dealers to be able to start the skies with them security locked.

  5. #5
    i originally thought you meant display was security locked. should be able to bump the start button and get power to display if display is unlocked either with code or blue connector disconnected.

  6. #6
    Myself's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,772
    +1
    129
    It also has a fried starter solenoid from the owner repeatedly trying to start a locked up engine. Only thing I get when I hit the start button is "start" on the display. I believe one of the display power wires comes out of the CDI so the CDI would actually have to power up to bring the display on.

  7. #7
    Echo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tarpon Springs FL
    Posts
    383
    +1
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by Myself View Post
    It also has a fried starter solenoid from the owner repeatedly trying to start a locked up engine. Only thing I get when I hit the start button is "start" on the display. I believe one of the display power wires comes out of the CDI so the CDI would actually have to power up to bring the display on.

    Don't know how to do what u want but I agree. Just hitting the button was not enough on my gp1200 I wanted to check the hours after I had the top end off. I had to hook the starter back up, put the front cover on and actually turn the engine over to get the display to come alive. In my mind it seems to need some sort of a feed from the stator though the cdi. I am not not up to snuff on the electrical on these so just my two cents.

  8. #8
    Myself's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,772
    +1
    129
    Found a service manual and got it figured out. You have to power the red wire from the large natural colored connector and ground the black from that connector. Then you have to push the A and C buttons and hold the mode button for more than 3 seconds. The display will light up and say Welcome to Waverunner, then you can let go of the buttons and the display will toggle through every mode all by itself.

  9. #9
    Echo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tarpon Springs FL
    Posts
    383
    +1
    33
    Cool deal going to try that on my parts ski tomarro, might not be the same on the non PV tho will say yay/nay after I try it for anyone that might be interested.

  10. #10
    Yamaha artisan Cutlass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    2,500
    +1
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Echo View Post
    Cool deal going to try that on my parts ski tomarro, might not be the same on the non PV tho will say yay/nay after I try it for anyone that might be interested.
    I'm interested. the question get asked alot and I've yet to come up with an answer for the non-pv gauges besides cranking the engine over.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. power up gauges on gp1200r
    By Hurban96 in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2017, 07:27 PM
  2. Gauges Power Up And Model Info?
    By bigo in forum Honda Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2015, 08:43 PM
  3. Yamaha GP1300r gauge bench test power up
    By leejax01 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 02:56 PM
  4. how to hook up oil gauge to check oil level
    By www.partnersautosales.net in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2007, 10:32 PM
  5. Lighting-up the Gauges ?
    By GreenMachine in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-25-2006, 09:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •