Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1100 Kawa fuel delivery issues

Sorry if this is covered some where else, however, I am new to PWCs and 2 strokes for sure. I purchased a 99 Kawa 1100 ZXI that had sat for 5 years. I thought I cleaned the carbs and siphoned all the gas I could get out of the tank. I got the ski to run and took it to a small creek to test. I made two separate trips and thought she was gonna clean out by riding her. But after the last ride I checked the plugs, the aft cylinder was black as I would suspect, the center clyinder had a little black on the electrode and the bow clyinder looked new with no traces of oil.

Tonight I cleaned the main, pilot and float jets as well as checked the float valve for wear. I started her up and she does sound better, but when I check for heat between all the cylinders by feel (I don't have a ir thermometer, the aft clyinder feels hottest and the bow clyinder is coolest. Do you all think she will come around or do I have a case pump problem. What should I check to verify? Any help is appreciated.

+1
    I just cooked my Stx motor because of a stuck inlet needle on cylinder 3. Burned a hole in the piston and then seized the lower rod bearing before I could get back to the dock. It's going to cost me about $800 to rebuild it, so I would say make sure it's fixed before going out again.

+1
    Welcome aboard, Pozer!

If the plug looks clean, it's not firing. Could be lack of fuel or lack of spark (in which case it would be wet). It won't clean itself out. You might try running some SeaFoam in the fuel, but I wouldn't bet on it.

Try giving it a little choke and see if it runs better. If so, that confirms the lack of fuel.

I think you'll end up overhauling all three carbs before you're done.

One more thing: check for proper cooling of the stator by removing one of the cooling hoses and blowing through it. They get clogged very easily.