Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

2001 Polaris Genesis Reverse gate doesn't work.

I have a 2001 Polaris Genesis with carbs. The bilge switch and the reverse gate switch are not working.
    I have traced the wiring harness and will be unplugging each connection and spraying electrical contact cleaner in them next. I unfortunately don't have a wiring diagram to go by for the change in the harness under the hull. I have again traced handlebar switch wires and found them to be black and orange paired together for forward, then blue/white and green /white paired together and doubling up somewhere under the hull....for reverse...the latter pair I have found coming out of the harness and continuing to the reverse motor box in the rear of the hull with two other wires....gray/red and a black wire....don't know where those two are from yet. Does anybody have any suggestions? I have little knowledge of how to use a voltage/ohm meter, but can tell when I have
    DC voltage. My question is really where to start testing the system....at the switch?...and should I be looking for 12 volts?
    Sorry guys...I'm old school.... "shade tree" mechanic. Can I just bypass the switch at the connector to activate it? If it doesn't work there? Should I go straight to the motor? The harness connecting that can be checked for power I'm sure....but which wires? As I said.....There are two sets..... Blue/white and green/white striped paired...times two...it started at the switch only one set of those....somewhere under the hull it becomes two sets of the green/white and blue/white and then runs with the gray/red striped and the black wire to the motor box. The orange "seems" to go from the handlebar switch into the coil box....and then to a fuse...fuse looks fine.
    The black....I assume is the same black running to the motor box, but not having a diagram, I'm not sure...this is all by sight....I'm just guessing.
    The motor box looks extremely difficult to remove....is it?