Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tjdriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Eglin AFB
    Posts
    485
    +1
    4

    Open up and repair an MFI display? (not MFD)

    Anyone know how to open one up without destroying it?

    My virage display started acting up then went tits up.

    I swapped the genesis MFI over and it works fine on the virage.

    I want to open up the broken one and see if there's anything obvious.
    Last edited by K447; 10-28-2013 at 08:13 AM. Reason: MFI, not MFD


  2. #2
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,591
    +1
    1,275
    Unlike the smaller oval MFD on the older models the MFI displays used on Virage and Genesis seem to fail much less often.

    i have never cut one open. If you do, post up what you learn, with photos please.

  3. #3
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee WI
    Posts
    16,708
    +1
    1,324
    The difference between tje virage and genesis MFI is the speedo calibration. Electrically they are the same.

  4. #4
    Tjdriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Eglin AFB
    Posts
    485
    +1
    4
    Thanks K. I deal with MFDs and MPCDs all day at work. Stupid jets. lol

    I'm hoping that someone will chime in and inform me on how to take this thing apart before I destroy it.

  5. #5
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,591
    +1
    1,275
    Quote Originally Posted by Tjdriver View Post
    Thanks K. I deal with MFDs and MPCDs all day at work. Stupid jets. lol

    I'm hoping that someone will chime in and inform me on how to take this thing apart before I destroy it.
    Run your old not-working display through a bandsaw so we can see how it is put together.

    Then the next one can be cut open more carefully.

    Are good condition replacement displays that expensive?

  6. #6
    Tjdriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Eglin AFB
    Posts
    485
    +1
    4
    Run it through a bandsaw? lol You cray cray.

    I'll fiddle with it when I get some free time and try to get it opened up.
    I didn't see any really obvious seams when I looked the other day.

    I looked on the interweb and saw MFIs from $50-$400 used.

  7. #7
    Rowdy72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    54
    i used a scalpel , in between the clear plastic and the black plastic to cut away the glue holding it together on a corner . Then levered it apart with a metal ruler . Hope that helps

  8. #8
    Tjdriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Eglin AFB
    Posts
    485
    +1
    4
    I saw that in your thread. I'll try to get it apart and see if there's some obvious damage. Mine was half ace let up then it went completely blank. Maybe I'll get lucky and it is just a bad capacitor.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to open up and fix a CDI (work in progress)
    By sea~smith in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2016, 08:36 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-24-2015, 01:25 PM
  3. Up and running but not exactly help!!
    By rmk82nd in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2015, 05:41 PM
  4. 2006 RXP, will not power up, no beeps, no lcd display
    By endeavor_635650 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-17-2014, 10:09 AM
  5. opening up and extra hole on the cowling what is the negative of doing that?
    By noshowallgo in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-01-2008, 06:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •