Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question 2014: FZR(S) vs. RXP

Hi everyone. I've read up a lot here and would like to say I really enjoy the forum. Great place for a noob like me to gather info on all things technical and Jetski.
    I'm new to the PWC world and have one simple (but maybe complex) question in regards to which ski to buy. I'm tossing up between purchasing the new RXP-X 260 and the FZS SVHO 2014. Few things to take into account before posting your much appreciated and valued opinion:
    * I'm from Brisbane, Australia, and while things are much more expensive here then elsewhere in the world I don't have a set budget in regards to buying and maintaining a new ski.
    * This will be my first ski and I know people will advise to buy second hand first to gather experience and so forth, but to be honest I'm not interested in purchasing anything that's not top of the range.
    * I've only ever ridden a stock 2012 RXP 260 for 5 hours or so in a river, I flogged it till the cows came home and absolutely loved it. However, having done some recent watercraft homework I'm fairly certain I'm leaning towards the Yamaha FZS. Test drive(s) and advice pending.
    * After purchasing and enjoying some hours on my soon to be ski, I more then likely will consider modding to some extent. My understanding is that people tend to lean towards Yamaha when planning to mod.
    * I plan on using it in both fresh and salt water, with the ratio being roughly 50/50.
    * I hope to tow maybe 40% of the time, after having done 30+ hours.
    * My top 5 most enjoyed features and/or aspects of a ski would be;
    5. Aesthetics.
    4. Comfort.
    3. Top speed.
    2. Handling.
    1. Acceleration.

I hope all this helps on giving me your opinion. If I need to mention anything else just let me know. Thanks everyone in advance.

Australia, Perth WA
    Ride the RXTX 260 , it's the best of both ...

New Braunfels TX.