Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Premix or Not?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    KY/ Lake Cumberland
    Posts
    114

    Premix or Not?

    I found a small pool of oil in the bottom of my hull, just under the oil pump. I got to checking around and the only thing I can tell its coming from is one of the lines coming out of the pump that go to the carb is pulled back a little. I started checking them and noticed how 'easy' they are to pull loose. The lines seem like they are old and hardened. What kind of line can you replace those with? I'd like to have something more flexible and something that fits tighter on the barb. -OR- I was just thinking about jerking the pump off and going premix. It will be more trouble for me at the dock to refuel, but I'm thinking less trouble in the long run with not having to worry about those darn lines coming loose and having to check them every ride. What do you think?


  2. #2
    oldmanraider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    298
    I switched to premix a couple of years ago. For me its not to bad, I keep one of those premix ratio bottles with me. If you have to put gas in at the dock just fill a small bottle with a premesured amount of oil and just add the proper amount of gas from the dock. This may not fill up your tank but should keep you on the water longer.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2
    Hey oldman raider, I have just bought an 03 XLT and have an oil pump block off kit ordered. What mix ratio have you found success with? ANy other items you have changed ie. fuel filter, type of plugs ? how does your bike do sitting at idel or in no wake zone, do the plugs tend to load up?

    Thanks,
    B

  4. #4
    oldmanraider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    298
    Welcome to the forum B-Zonk.

    I like to run Penzoil 100% Synthetic at a 40 to 1 ratio. I've had no problems with it loading up at idle and it does seem to smoke less than before. From reading here and other forums most people run anywhere from 30 to 1 - 50 to 1 so thought I would just split the difference. If your ski is stock 50 to 1 would be fine. I think the factory oil pump runs at 50 to 1.

    I run Penzoil because it's what's at my local Walmart for 20 dollars a gallon.

    The stock fuel filter works fine with premix and you should't have to do anything different with your plugs.

    Matt

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Matt-
    I have had an 02 stock sitting at LOTO for the past 2 years, it is 50/50 split with my father and he is 69 so he did not want me tapering with that unit and it is in prestine condition. It's his lake house and he is there more than me so that is fair. This bike I just picked up the 03 is a bit rough and I am going to see what kinda speed I can get out of it through mods and just have fun with it and keep it in Chicago with me.

    This is my first shoot at these forms and this one seems to have alot less bickering and name calling on it thatn another site I have been looking at.

    I like to wrench and play and appreciate and look forward to all of your knowledge in getting this thing "moving" (fast) in the right direction.

    Thanks again,
    B

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    KY/ Lake Cumberland
    Posts
    114
    Thanks Raider. I actually never thought about just carrying a pre-measured bottle of oil with me and then filling up at the dock. I'm assuming that pouring the oil in first then filling it up with gas would mix it up good enough? That seems easier than carrying 3-5gal. jugs with me. Not too many times will I ride where I burn much over a tank.

  7. #7
    ....back from the dead.... J-ME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    1,577
    +1
    2
    Premix is the only way to go, esp. on an older machine.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    KY/ Lake Cumberland
    Posts
    114
    I forgot to ask this earlier, but the flat metal plate that sits between the carbs and the stock airbox, can that be removed when you put F/A's on? I can't really see that its needed as long as you have a gasket for the adapters.

  9. #9
    800AMSOIL4U's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    5,024
    +1
    132
    Pre-Mix is the only way to go. You will never have to worry about a pump failing, the hose getting hard or the hose coming off. It is the little extra insurance to know you do not have to worry about.

  10. #10
    oldmanraider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    298
    WaveJumper I think that plate needs to be removed in order to install the FA's.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. To run premix or not, that is the question, newbie here, please advise!!! yama 700
    By dontknowcrap in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-24-2012, 09:43 PM
  2. Better to Premix or Not??
    By zues in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-20-2009, 04:45 PM
  3. To go premix or not.. ?
    By BlitzK in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2007, 09:33 AM
  4. To mod or not to mod?
    By MikeTrin in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 02:58 PM
  5. To wedge or not to wedge
    By Phil in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 11:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •