Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

96 zxi1100 fuel carb issues please help

Hi I'm new to jet skis and this forum and I would firstly like to say hello all

i have a 96 1100 zxi i haven't used it in water yet

I bought it and it's been stood a fair while I had it started it ran quite well but a little rough so I drained all the fuel put new fuel into it replaced plugs and cleaned air box

Now it's a right pain to start when it starts it won't tick over it is trying but keeps dying

if I do get it started I can rev it and hold it above 4000 rpm but if I back off below 4000 it dies again and squeezing the throttle will not raise revs just kills it

many thanks
    JimJim

+1
    Welcome aboard, JimJim!

If it's been stored a long time without proper treatment of the fuel (stabilizer), there's a really good chance of gum in the fuel system. Start by changing the fuel filter. If that doesn't do the trick, it's probably time to overhaul the carbs. You would be wise to pull the fuel pickups out of the tank and inspect them.

If it still has the oil injection system, you really need to inspect/replace the hoses. They get brittle with age and leak.

Finally, that particular model was unstable at high speed and would unexpectedly flip over on smooth water. Kawasaki issued a mandatory recall to install a plate on the front of the hull to prevent this. If yours does not have the plate (it's mounted on the front, below the tiedown eye, you need to get it done. A Kawi dealer should do it at no charge.

Thank you for your advice I'll look into the plate what does it look like

many thanks
    Jim

+1
    I don't have a picture of the plate, but it is riveted on the bottom front part of the hull, then the edges are caulked.

+1
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	43.4 KB 
ID:	319544