Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

E-85 GPR, is it possible ??

Hello My name is Sam and I am new to the fourms. I am in the process of building a 1390 triple piper and was thinking of running e-85. I have done some research and it seems that it may be possible. Please anyone that thinks otherwise let me know, im looking for some good input here. Here is what know.

E-85 produces only 72% of gasolines power, so it needs 27% more fuel
    E-85 is 105 octane
    E-85 get 30% less fuel milage, but if advancing timing only 25% less
    E-85 is harmful to rubber parts
    E-85 is quite hydroscopic, meaning it picks up water from the atmoshere
    E-85 is roughly 25% cheaper than 93 octane

I figure that e-85 is a cheap race fuel alt. with its 105 octane rating it is like race gas,, allowing me to run a higher comp ratio and adv timing. I figure that if I increase my jet dia by 13% ,run race fuel heads , r+d cdi on race fuel setting, and tygon fuel lines it just may work. I know Klotz makes oil that will work.could it be this simple?? here are my unanswered questions.

Do you think that the fuel pumps and carbs gaskets will be affected by the high alcohol concentration??
    Will my tank collect water from the outside air or can this be kept under control by adding a little extra heat here and there, or mabe just pulling a little fuel off the bottom of the tank from time to time.
    E-85 has a cleaning effect on parts, will my engine internally rust when not in use??
    Please any input would be great, has anyone tried e-85 in a jet ski or am I the 1st ?? I read online of a 600 hp airplane engine that ran 100aa fuel was converted to e-85 and with new timing and fuel curves makes 650hp on e-85 thats over 8% power gain, just food for thought. please let me know what you think?? I would also like to say thanks to all fourm members, I have found countless posts that have been helpful for my gpr .. Thanks Sam

+1
    Welcome Sam,