Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Audio video TV help needed, new house cable questions; HDMI, CAT5e/CAT6, coax, etc

Guys I am building a new home and am having tons of problems finding the correct way to run my AV cables. See I am locating the cable boxes in closets and under the stair case as to not see any of the cable boxes in the home. I'm also going to use IR receivers to control them.

The questions I have is what all do I need to run to the tv area on the wall and above the fireplace? I was going to just run HDMI. from the hidden box to the tv. and of coarse a wall outlet hidden behind the TV. But is this going to be ok. I mean I just don't know. I do want my TVs. to be internet compatible of coarse for downloads. Just need help. We are installing a 180inch theater room so no real audio needed for the rest.
    Last edited by K447; 02-02-2014 at 02:47 PM. Reason: Thread title clarification

+1
    Yeah HDMI is pretty cool. I'm not an expert but I was able to get rid of most of the mass of traditional wiring connections in my system and replace them with HDMI.

You can run HDMI from the cable box, but it really depends on how many sources you want to view from on that TV, (for example you might want another connection from a Blu-ray player or DVR). Right now, I'm streaming Netflix HD in via my Blu-ray player then HDMI to my Samsung TV and it works great.

It also depends on what quality of sound you expect from it. In my experience, most of these big flat screen TV's have terrible sound quality, (really bad). If you're like me you're gonna need at least 5.1 for a large room and that involves a sub with digital AV receiver/amplifier. They also make various types of 'sound bars' that might help. But in the end, these are all handled pretty well by HDMI connections in my setup.

+1
    I ran rca's, hdmi and a data cable from my cupboard. I also have an hdmi wall socket and power point below the tv so a ps3/xbox can be plugged in easy at any time.