Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thinking about getting a 150 Speedster

I need some idea from my friends here on Green Hulk!

The wife and I have been doing the PWC/ATV/Jeep thing for the past 10 years at have had a blast.....well, we guess we must be slowing down a bit and looking to downsize the fleet some.

She isn't really interested in operating her own machine we found out last year when we acquired a SXS, so now her ATV is going. She is now telling me she would rather just be a passenger in a boat and take our dog with us rather than being on separate skis.

A normal sporty family fish/ski boat comes to mind from a cost, ride, and comfort standpoint....but I like to run on the river some where it can get down to 2-3' deep, so a jet is a plus. We also need it to be short like a 150 Speedster so when towing behind our 5th wheel we can stay under or near 65' combined length.

We don't ski or board as of yet, but mainly just like to go to the lake after work every one night a week and then on the weekends. I don't fish either, but might start as it's a whole lot safer and cheaper than some of the other activities I do now! I do however need a quick ride that isn't stupid on fuel either.

The way I figure, my wife's Kawi 12F has 120hp, only weighs 900lb, and is a slug....so the 155hp Speedster isn't going to cut it....however I don't expect it to be as quick as my Kawi 260x either.

These boats are a little harder to find over here on the west coast. Lost of old skool 2 strokes within 2-300 miles, but if I want a clean 215/255 boat, I have only found 2 or 3 within 800 miles of here.

One I found, 2008 215HP with a wake tower, cover, and a claimed 9 hours on the clock has an asking price of $19,500! Is this a little out of line? Seems like that is what they sold for new 6 years ago?