2003 XLT 1200 Questions/Opinions

Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to jet skis and just picked up a 2003 XLT 1200 Waverunner that has a "blown" motor for what i thought was a good deal. I have been doing some research on this site and others and am finding it looks like more that what i wanted to spend to rebuild the motor. I was wanting to stay under $1000 but looks like to rebuild it for the long term it would take closer to $2000. So here is my question what is this ski worth with a fresh motor. At this point am i just better off to part it out, sell it whole with the blown motor, or rebuild the motor. and if so what is a ballpark of what it would be worth whole with a blown motor? Also if i was to have the motor rebuild professionally(i may do it myself if i go that route) who is a good builder of these motors?

being new this this world i really appreciate any and all advice and guidance.

Thanks, Andrew

+1
    I have the same ski. Not sure what you paid for it so not sure what you'd want to put into it to make it 'worth while'.
    pricing will vary, I find its regional. Where are you located?

the cheapest route will likely be a used motor, but thats always a risk. knowing condition/hours/use, etc.

If the rest of your ski is mint & stock, not needing anything else with low hours, I'd think a blown motor ski might be worth ~$1000 depending on condition, etc
    With a rebuild.. maybe $2300+ As you probably know, rebuilt all depends on quality of parts & workmanship. Shop labor doesn't come cheap.

Im sure a lot of shops will come forward with a rebuild quote, finding someone qualified locally will likely be the best bet(i.e. Not the dealer)

in NY Carl @ Island Racing (long Island) comes recommended. Best of luck. XLT's are fun when running right.