Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

1994 Kawasaki xi

Hi I just bought a 1994 Kawasaki xi. I dont know anything about these skis but im a mechanic I've had skis in the past and I work on them and I like to supe them up a bit and have some fun. I just picked this one up today, it was a gift . I dont know much about this ski but if anyone would like to chime in and help me out that would be great. Im in this forum to learn and help anybody out that I can.

.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ski.jpg 
Views:	437 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	322429Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ski2.jpg 
Views:	434 
Size:	102.5 KB 
ID:	322430Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ski3.jpg 
Views:	424 
Size:	94.1 KB 
ID:	322431

If any body knows any good places to by parts please lmk. Thanks

+1
    Welcome aboard, 305kawi!

Carefully inspect the oil lines. They get brittle with age and crack.

That knob on the front of the exhaust pipe works the crankcase drain. If the engine gets water in it, you pull the knob to drain it. Problem is that they tend to leak and cause the engine to run lean--burning up the engine. Best thing to do is buy a block-off plate for it and remove it.

A primer will make it start a lot easier when cold.

Thanks for the info. i already got a block off plate for the oil pump. I had a GP1200R before and i switched to pre-mix. I will look into the crank drain that you are talking about. I still haven't gone through the ski because work is busy. The guy had the carbs pulled off because he said they were dirty. Im going to clean them up and also see if I can pull the tank and flush it out.

Any advise on cleaning out the fuel tank? Looks like Im going to have to pull the motor to pull the tank

+1
    Yep, you'll probably have to pull the engine to block off the crankcase drain, but it has been done while in the 'Ski.