Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    is this really bad??

    I was installing my jetworks kit last night. When I drilled and taped the hole for the temp senson to go into I didnt drill it deep enough. about 40 thou to shallow. Well when I put my sensor in it broke the little electrode on the end. My question is can I ride without the sensor hooked up or do I need to order a new one? Is there a resistor mod I can do for a temp fix untill I get a new sensor? I looked on boats.net and couldnt tell which one I needed. I can bet its the little 155$ sensor... Any one have the correct part number for that part?

    thanks!!


  2. #2
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,800
    +1
    449
    I dont use a water temp sensor.

    10k ohm resistor will shut the light off (and let it start and run).

  3. #3
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17
    2 k ohm resistor works well till you can find a second hand temp sensor..

  4. #4
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17
    bow listen to rich (wfo)
    i used a 2 k ohm but if he says 10 then thats the one to use...i used 10 in my cat temp line and 2 in water...
    it dont mean i am right it means ive been lucky...THIS TIME

  5. #5
    Thanks yall!!! Im gonna take mine out and just run a resistor. Is the resistance any different in the 05/06 boats vs the 03/04? Just checkin! I have a bunch of resistors I keep on my ski just in case I need to do a quick workaround on a problem.

    thanks again I owe yall some beer!

  6. #6
    2000 GPRXP 4tec shooter98xpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    2,717
    +1
    3
    1000 ohm is what you need, not a 10000.
    SHOOTER

  7. #7
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17
    my bad mine is a 1 k ohm not 2 k ohm...had to go check..
    dam colours confuse the hell out of me....

  8. #8
    MPower's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    3,338
    +1
    121
    Make sure you put some JB Weld or something in the hole where the sensor was going to go.

  9. #9
    I will probably use a metric plug with some plumbers dope to seal it... I will try a few resistors and see. thanks all!!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is This Really a Battery Issue??
    By PredHunter in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 09:57 PM
  2. Is this motor bad or good? PICS!!!!
    By espritonsevas in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 06:52 AM
  3. Is this REALLY an X supercharger?
    By ModularJunk in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 10:18 AM
  4. Is this REALLY an X supercharger?
    By ModularJunk in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 07:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •