Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83

    F12x only runs 3750-4000 rpms

    Ski only runs 3750-4000 rpms. No warning lights, not in limit mode or limp mode. Turbo spins freely, wastegate actuator is new and it moves and snaps back. I checked all hoses to turbo, they are tight and connected correctly. Line off of Turbo has the restrictor in it. If I disconnect the line off the turbo it does not change rpms. I swapped the two map sensors, no change. Selenoid is pulsing and passed the "blow test." On the trailer it revs all the way up. I checked the hoses on the intake and dont feel any leaks. Oil is not milky. It def is sucking air through the intake. I cleaned the spark plugs but didnt replace them. Just put new fuel in it but had some older fuel sitting in it. It does not sputter or want to stall, feels good on take off but thats it. Please help!


  2. #2
    AWA MEMBER
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Currituck, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    4,616
    +1
    247
    Something is wrong with the turbo or wastegate is open........you can try changing plugs first and see what happens

  3. #3
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    I held the wastegate closed no difference, can open and close it by hand. Turbo spins freely (has a chip but should still create boost) Def sucks air and tried it without the intake hose def. Blowing air. Would changing plugs give me a loss of 2400 rpms.

  4. #4
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    Removed turbo. Blades are all chewed up, shaft is off center. Def my issue. It wasnt this bad went I put it in. Now the hunt begins for a turbo.

  5. +1 by:


  6. #5
    AWA MEMBER
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Currituck, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    4,616
    +1
    247
    Good job finding the turbo your fault I thought that was it.......make sure oil line is not restricted and oil is getting to your turbo

  7. #6
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    Thanks, yes its getting oil. It sat for a lil while with water in oil from a bad exhaust mani. I went through the whole motor. Cleaned everything up, luckily no rust on the important stuff. Anyone try a RhF5 turbo from a car on here? Same flow, size, etc. Just doesnt use ceramic bearings like the oem one. Most rebuilds I see are using journal bearings anyway.
    Last edited by surferd15; 02-19-2014 at 10:34 AM.

  8. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    BELGIUM
    Posts
    81
    +1
    2
    There is no need to change the complete turbo . I saw somewhere on the forum that there are spare parts available, but i don't remember where . Maybe somebody else can help .

  9. #8
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    There is if you replace the insides with journal bearings and dont want ceramic ball bearings. I was about to retrofit another turbo, but found a good deal on a brand new Honda unit.

  10. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    BELGIUM
    Posts
    81
    +1
    2
    Is it normal that you can open and close the wastegate by hand ? Maybe the actuator is broken ?
    Good luck with your new unit !

  11. #10
    Q in Arizona's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    30,500
    +1
    7,334
    Quote Originally Posted by STAVROS View Post
    Is it normal that you can open and close the wastegate by hand ? Maybe the actuator is broken ?
    Good luck with your new unit !
    Yep it's normal. The wastegate actuator should always be free and movable by hand on these turbos.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 2008 STX Problem - wont run over 4000 rpm
    By jefski520 in forum Kawasaki How To & FAQs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2016, 07:00 PM
  2. 2008 STX Problem - wont run over 4000 rpm
    By jefski520 in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2016, 07:00 PM
  3. 03 GP1300R installed new mounts and D-Plate now it only runs about 5K RPM?
    By dsb150 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-17-2015, 07:54 AM
  4. 1050 only runs at 4000+ RPM's
    By kmartin173 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-2010, 01:18 PM
  5. Stage 2 only runs 6300-6400 rpm?
    By cjo632racing in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-17-2010, 12:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •