Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Athena ECU

  1. #1
    idoodou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    cincy,ohio
    Posts
    765
    +1
    30

    Athena ECU

    is anyone having any luck with the Atnena ECU, i have one but last spring it was not working well with just a stock tune, would like to get some feed back before i try it again after installing go-fast parts, leaning towards V-Tech if athena does not work out


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Naples FL.
    Posts
    157
    +1
    18
    I have one and it works fine. IMO its better than Vtech because you can change the tune yourself but not as adjustable as Motec. Riva does have good support and Rob C will respond to emails and help clear things up with tuning questions. The software is just kinda weird and somewhat more difficult to use but once you grasp it, its like anything else. Athena's Base tunes are good enough to ride and are reliable but you can clean up the map a bit. The data logger is another $1000, which I don't like, but can be useful for self tuning. If you don't have a WB then I would highly recommend installing one if you play around with the map. Again, the maps are a bit conservative but you can clean it up and get it to run really clean but it just takes a little bit of patience.

    BTW - I have a 2012 RXPX, pretty much running riva stage 3+, 8900rpms. Very strong ski.

  3. #3
    idoodou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    cincy,ohio
    Posts
    765
    +1
    30
    not wanting to go as high on the tune as you just up to 8350, installing 4" air intake, flame resistor removed, catch can,fuel regulator,afr, hard pipe kit, and 08 I/C

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Naples FL.
    Posts
    157
    +1
    18
    Do you have a WB? What problems were you having when you mentioned it wasn't working well?

    One of the easiest and basic things is setting the idle a little higher (because its low usually and causes engine vibrations) and also making sure you calibrated the TB correctly. Those two things can help get you going issue free. Also make sure the pressure reg is set to the correct psi.

    I also wouldn't be using the Stock Tune but rather the Stage 1 tune with your mods at this point. It should run pretty well with those mods-

  5. #5
    idoodou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    cincy,ohio
    Posts
    765
    +1
    30
    was running stock ski on stock tune adding the list of mods on it now need to up date my maya program and down load a new tune for mods then start adjusting tune to match ski and mods just wanting to know if anyone has got it working well, have not seen much on GH about athena and if people are getting it to work

    i am adding WB

  6. #6
    remember you get editor also when you buy the tuning license for vtech.
    And our datalogger also have WB for half the price !

  7. #7
    idoodou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    cincy,ohio
    Posts
    765
    +1
    30
    i will keep that in mind giving athena one more shot if it does not work out going vtech for sure

  8. #8
    boost junkie skidoochris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Davison, Mi
    Posts
    4,494
    +1
    476
    the most important thing is missing on the Athena....KNOCK CONTROL
    put the Athena in the garbage can

  9. #9
    Sayers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne AUS
    Posts
    2,300
    +1
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by skidoochris View Post
    the most important thing is missing on the Athena....KNOCK CONTROL
    put the Athena in the garbage can
    Which is extremely disappointing to say the least. Knock was one of the main features advertised. 12 months after my purchase and it's still not operational. If I was aware at the time I purchased That knock is not operational and may never be, I would have reconsidered my purchase.
    its false advertisement, and consumers did not get what they paid for.

  10. #10
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,064
    +1
    790
    Yep I bought mine with the understanding it had knock. I sold it real quick and went M130.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Just got my RIVA/Athena ECU !
    By Waterholics in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-13-2013, 11:41 AM
  2. RIVA/Athena ECU support site has launched
    By Green Hulk in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-02-2012, 01:30 PM
  3. Riva Athena ECU replacement discussion
    By lolzer in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 09-16-2012, 08:43 PM
  4. RIVA/Athena ECU support site has launched
    By Green Hulk in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-11-2012, 11:06 AM
  5. athena ecu
    By tealgreen2000 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-12-2012, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •