Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

2004 GTX SC Limited wont hit max rpms

Hello everyone, I am hoping you guys can help shed some light on why my seadoo gtx sc wont turn past 7350 rpms. I have a 4" intake, 2 degree wedge, riva intake grate, opas block off's and a rebuilt SC by Jerry. Prop and WR are with in spec. All maintenance done and I recently replaced the Head with a refurbished one from SBT. Runs like a champ, does not show any abnormalities but wont go past 61 and 7350 tops. It averages 7200 at 58. Its got 96 hours on it. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

+1
    What prop is in it? Might be too steep. Mine has been playing up with low rpm and bogging lately, turns out to be an exhaust leak at the v band flange. Perhaps check for exhaust leak, if you've had the head done it would all have been apart.

+1
    What are your compression #s?

Is the oil at the correct level and not over full?

Did this start when you replaced the head?
    I would start by putting a new set of plugs in it and running a double dose of fuel injector cleaner thru it.

04 with 96 hrs is only 9.6 hrs a year so its had to have old fuel in it....

dont know the numbers, im fairly certain they are fine, but il verify. As for the oil, I may have overfilled it a touch since I didnt know I had to idle it for 30 seconds to properly check it. I believe this started after the head job. There is also steam or white smoke for a second after a long wot run. I dont believe the head is leaking but il also do a block test to verify. The vband could be a culprit since the exhaust rotted away and I had it re-welded. How can i check the what prop I have?

+1
    Steam out the back is normal, if it dissipates quickly it is a team and nothing to worry about. To check the prop you will have to remove it and find what numbers are on it.

When you say exhaust rotted away, do you mean the bell on the exhaust manifold? This is generally a sign of running lean.