Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Riva open loop. Thermostat stuck open again.

    I had replaced the thermostat last season when I noticed that the water would come out of the engine as soon as I would hook up the flush hose. Signaling me to believe that the thermostat had stuck open. I replaced the thermostat with an identical one from autozone and now it is doing the same thing!

    Anyone had issues with the thermostat sticking open, I believe that the riva kits come with fail safe thermostat. Should I just switch to a Fizzle? any issues with his?

    I am in South Texas with Hot water so do I need to be concerned about this or do I even need to be running a thermostat with the open loop kit? Thanks


    Also, I noticed that my exhaust temp sensor will go off and I have the water piped the way riva explains in the instructions, would it be safe to instead T the water before the inter-cooler and run a line to the exhaust ?


  2. #2
    shrabber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    5,305
    +1
    376
    Get Rid of that autozone junk!!Go with a marine thermostat and be done!!


    http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...classNum=61541

  3. #3
    Moderator beerdart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    25,929
    +1
    1,407
    All thermostats have a small bypass so it always flows some.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by shrabber View Post
    Get Rid of that autozone junk!!Go with a marine thermostat and be done!!


    http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...classNum=61541

    The "autozone" junk is what Riva installs in them . They are fail safe tstate and they can stick open. I am removing it now and will see if the marine one fits. Thanks

  5. #5
    imp0ster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    5,037
    +1
    672
    It has yellow fingers you need to bend outwards so it doesn't catch. You'd figure for the price they sell the kits for they would already do this for you. I had to bend mine out

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by imp0ster View Post
    It has yellow fingers you need to bend outwards so it doesn't catch. You'd figure for the price they sell the kits for they would already do this for you. I had to bend mine out
    Thank You !

  7. #7
    imp0ster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    5,037
    +1
    672
    Also if you look at the flow vs the direction the T-stat open it looks like it has to PULL it back into the head. I am clueless how this happens

  8. #8
    shrabber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    5,305
    +1
    376
    Quote Originally Posted by dpshook View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by shrabber View Post
    Get Rid of that autozone junk!!Go with a marine thermostat and be done!!


    http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...classNum=61541

    The "autozone" junk is what Riva installs in them . They are fail safe tstate and they can stick open. I am removing it now and will see if the marine one fits. Thanks
    The problem is "marine" those automotive thermostats are made to run in a closed loop antifreeze Enviroment. The Marine Thermostats Hold up better to open water conditions, sediments, salt, Corrosion etc.

  9. #9
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    Quote Originally Posted by dpshook View Post
    I had replaced the thermostat last season when I noticed that the water would come out of the engine as soon as I would hook up the flush hose

    Because it's supposed to. The Riva thermostat has bypass holes in it which will enable water flow at all times.


    Quote Originally Posted by beerdart View Post
    All thermostats have a small bypass so it always flows some.
    Correct!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 247
    Last Post: 03-10-2017, 01:38 PM
  2. Thermostat # need for Riva Open Loop Thermostat Housing 160 degree
    By 800AMSOIL4U in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-16-2015, 01:06 PM
  3. FS Riva Open Loop Thermostat
    By rangermtb5 in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-15-2011, 07:22 PM
  4. Riva Open Loop Thermostat?
    By mongo in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 08:50 PM
  5. Riva open loop thermostat
    By iron head in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 08:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •