Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

1200 SLX CDI question (another one!)

Hi guys and Gday from sunny Australia. Great forum with heaps of info.

I posted this over at PWC Today earlier but it seems there is more activity here for Polaris guys. Please excuse the cut and paste.

I have a 2000 SLX which I bought cheap as it was not running (very intermittent/no spark). I am an auto mechanic by trade and have a decent Fluke meter to test with.
    I have read a lot of info on here and downloaded a service manual.
    I have tested the coils/leads etc and they are all in spec.
    I tested the stator to the service manual specs and it appeared to be good too.
    I jumped the CDI power over to the orange with no luck. Also tried holding the bilge button. I cannot hear my bilge pump running but its warm to touch so I suspect it may be seized.

I have checked all the fuses, disconnected the stop switch wiring and also the tan/grey MFD limiter wiring. The board and connections all look good as someone has sprayed some electrical protector in there at some stage to keep moisture out.

I am getting 8v out of the
    CDI (brown) when cranking. I have a second car battery hooked up (not running) and have 11.5+ at the CDI (red/p) when cranking (plugs out).

My only other observation is the LR regulator does get quite warm when the stop button is out (while I am testing). Is this normal? Do I understand correctly the LR in an SLX is not a Stop/Start module rather just a voltage regulator??

I bit the bullet and fitted a new stator (genuine Polaris supplied by SBT agent in Australia) and this has not fixed the problem. Unfortunately I only noticed SBT are making new CDI's after I ordered the stator!!

I still get the odd spark now and again but nothing consistent.