Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

1997 Kawasaki ZXI Tear Down

Hey all! New to the forums here. I am somewhat new to jet skis but I know my way around an engine esp two strokes. I purchased a SN Yamaha Superjet last summer and I got hooked. Well today I picked up a Kawasaki 750ZXI for $800 bucks trailer included (I felt this was a pretty good deal). It is in good shape, garage kept very clean ect.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jet ski picture.jpg 
Views:	1854 
Size:	35.9 KB 
ID:	324303
    Anyhow the girl wanted $1000 but we couldn't get it to start when I came to look at it and settled on $800. She said it ran fine last September and had it winterized and put in storage. Well when I showed up, they had a hose hooked up to the water line while the engine wasnt running. From my researching, i found this a big no no. Upon pulling the plugs they were covered in a creamy white gas/oil/water mix preventing ignition. I figured maybe a bad head gasket, but since they ran the hose without running the engine, I assume this pushed water past the gaskets and into the crank and head. Upon getting it home I removed the cylinder head and jug and found this.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Head.jpg 
Views:	1238 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	324301Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Crank.jpg 
Views:	940 
Size:	52.0 KB 
ID:	324302