Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Drysuit vs semi dry suit vs wetsuit for cold water standup riding

I'm a beginner stand up rider training for race, and I'm inevitably spending a lot of time IN the water. I'd appreciate some good pointers regarding suit, gloves and boots, but mostly suit, that are the right choice for cold water (5 to 15 Celsius -- 40 to 60 fahrenheit) and cold days as to not freeze to death.

I realize I'm giving a pretty broad range of temperatures but water temps here tend to rise pretty slowly up until mid summer so I might need more than one suit to take me through the season.

I'm right now torn between a thicker wetsuit (5mm to 7mm) and a drysuit with some warm and moisture wicking clothing underneath.

I would like to solicit some comments and discussion about the right gear for cold water/weather standup riding.

Would love to hear any recommendations you guys may have regarding suits, their flexibility and comfort.

Much appreciated

My 2 cents... I've worn both wet and dry suits for swift water rescue and ended up liking the wet vs dry. My dry suit invariably leaked at some point and then you're in wet, cold clothing and that ain't fun. In 45 degree water out on a lake by myself I don't want to get thrown, find out my dry just failed and freeze to death. The dry suit just doesn't give me enough protection and confidence to be comfortable. The wetsuit offers more protection from junk in the water and high speed falls. If I'm going to tumble off a ski at any speed I'd take a wetsuit vs dry.

The Peoples Republic of Minnesota