Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

1996 Seadoo XP - wont start

I have a 1996 XP that wont crank over. Engine is not locked up. I get the 2 beeps from the ECU when I put the key in place but no ignition happens. I have checked all of my wire connections, ground wire, starter wire, fuses in ECU box everything seems to be in order and well grounded.
    I did notice that the ignition coil in the rear box seems to be getting pretty warm but not sure if that is an issue, I switched it out with a spare that I had and the spare also got warm.

Any ideas on what I can check here? I am not a knowledgable mechanic but i hope I can figure this out.

+1
    My bet is on either the start stop button, or the starter solenoid... with the key OFF, press the start stop button a couple of times while watching the gauges, if you don't get power you probably have a bad button. A continuity check will confirm.

You could also go to the starter relay (where the positive battery cable goes to) and cross it over and see if the starter turns... if so it very well could be the button as adam mentioned!

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    will it even 'click" in the rear black box? if yes, you need to replace the main ground and the starter solenoid. They typically look ok but corrode under the plastic. If not, its the starter button, or the fuse. If you have a spare gray box I would swap that out and see if that fixes anything.

What do I look for the guages to do when I hit the button? Will the guages read or light up? When I put the key on the buttons light up in the electric gauge. I do have a spare button from another 96 xp, I can try to swap them out. I assume it is just a plug in type of wire.