Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

VX110 Leak When Running

Let me preface this by stating that I am a complete noob...

So... had my 2006 VX110 out today. Cruising, 30-40mpg, nothing crazy. Started to porpoise and slow a bit. Checked the bilge and it was quite full.

Ski does not take on water when off. It sat at the dock about a hour while I was driven back to my trailer and then back to ramp with no observable change in water level. As soon as it is started, though, warm water gushes in apparently from under the engine but it was hard to tell as there was a good bit of water in there. When I got home and flushed it, not a drop hit the bilge. The cooling water input and output hoses seem to be securely attached and I couldn't find any tears or holes at last as far as my big clumsy hands could feel.

Any advice would be appreciated.

+1
    Drain it. Put it on a trailer and back it on the ramp and run it in neutral. Since no overheating buzzer and the water being warm, should be a discharge hose running out the engine to the back or maybe a clamp on the exhaust system. Not too familiar with the VX, but if you need an extra set of eyes, let me know.

If it leaks while it runs it could be the shoe pump. Fill it up with water and see where it drains from. You'll probably have some from either your transom plate or shoe pump. Intermediate bearing could be bad as well. No holes in th bottom of the ski?

Yep. Leaking from the through-hull plate. Sounds like a common story on these VX110s. Moving the engine and breaking bolts is far outside my expertise so she'll be in the shop soon.

Thanks guys.

250-300 no more. If its more, I'll give you a write up on how to do it yourself. The first time you do it., youll say "aww shit, I could have done this all along"

+1