Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

ran into a problem changing exhaust filter 300x

This is my very first time attempting this. The problem I ran into was putting the 4 14mm bolts back on the downpipe. They will thread in most of the way then they get hard to turn.. Not even bottoming out or touching the downpipe flange yet..

I don't wanna man handle it and end up breaking it off.. Anyone have this happen? Thoughts?

Oh and here are a few pics of my filter at 32 hours fresh water use. Recreational riding. Be careful with those gaskets they are finger slicers lol

Thanks in advance for the help guys
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20140401_173314764.jpg 
Views:	102 
Size:	55.3 KB 
ID:	325778   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20140401_173309276.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	73.2 KB 
ID:	325780   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20140401_173420581.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	46.3 KB 
ID:	325781  

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by tommydale View Post
    This is my very first time attempting this. The problem I ran into was putting the 4 14mm bolts back on the downpipe. They will thread in most of the way then they get hard to turn.. Not even bottoming out or touching the downpipe flange yet..

I don't wanna man handle it and end up breaking it off.. Anyone have this happen? Thoughts?

Oh and here are a few pics of my filter at 32 hours fresh water use. Recreational riding. Be careful with those gaskets they are finger slicers lol

.You are dealing with aluminum it will strip pretty easy.be easy. You might try a proper size tap and clean the threads really good.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by jeff007 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by tommydale View Post

.You are dealing with aluminum it will strip pretty easy.be easy. You might try a proper size tap and clean the threads really good.