Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2012 VX 1100 Cylinder not firing

I am new to this and feel I have made a critical error. I did not correctly winterize my bike last year just put some fuel stabilizer in the gas and ran fresh water thru the bike. Well when I went to start the bike and change the oil it was hard to start and did not run well. I ran the bike after changing the oil, then changed the plugs, cleaned the injectors, and still had the same issue of not idling and running rough. I then decided to check my compression and found out that the rear cylinder has no compression. I did not have the proper compression gauge to fit into the cylinder had to use the one you hold with a rubber grommet. The cylinder next to it pressured up well and the rear cylinder did not pressure up at all.

My question is, what happened? I am thinking a stuck valve and will pull the valve cover off in two days to check. Should I put some penetrating oil (marvel mystery oil) in the spark plug hole for the next two days to let it soak? I am hoping that I can free this up without pulling the head.

Advice please....

Oil in the spark plug wont do anything but help a stuck valve. Which is a very common thing with your 12 vx ski. Its not really a tough repair if you can get the head off, but that requires a motor pull. I would personally give my head to a local machinist, but thats just me. I am actually doing a head gasket today on one of my VX skis. I have 2 cyl side by side that have no compression so i hope its the HG.

Any water in your oil.

No water in the oil.

Put marvel oil in the plug hole and it never got full. I heard it draining in the engine and ended up raising the oil level on my dipstick.

Quote Originally Posted by mtm109 View Post
    Put marvel oil in the plug hole and it never got full. I heard it draining in the engine and ended up raising the oil level on my dipstick.
    MTM 109,