Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Sea-Donkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    892
    +1
    107

    Mounting a RAM GPS mount using toggle nut inserts

    Bought the RAM mount that mounts to handle bars and wasn't a fan of having my hand on it for long distance rides...so I drilled some holes. Couldn't access the back to put on nuts so I used these toggle inserts. Worked scary good. Trying it out tomorrow at Mudbug. I like it so far.











  2. #2
    sweet....those ram mounts are solid arent they?

  3. #3
    Sea-Donkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    892
    +1
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by oldschool69 View Post
    sweet....those ram mounts are solid arent they?
    Appears so...we'll find out this weekend.

  4. #4
    DrivingZiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,943
    +1
    349
    Yeah, MudBug is gonna be OVER by the time you get here!

  5. #5
    Can you post a link to the Toggle Nut Inserts?

    Thanks
    Bruce

  6. #6
    Sea-Donkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    892
    +1
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceJ View Post
    Can you post a link to the Toggle Nut Inserts?

    Thanks
    Bruce
    I'll see if I can find them online...I've had them for several years. Saved them thinking I'd find a good use for them one day. Unfortunately just had those 2 so I'd like to know where to get more as well.

  7. #7
    DrivingZiggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Lafayette, LA
    Posts
    1,943
    +1
    349
    May end up doing this myself. Just ordered a 78sc while they were on sale at West. Backordered.

  8. #8
    Sea-Donkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    892
    +1
    107
    Quote Originally Posted by DrivingZiggy View Post
    May end up doing this myself. Just ordered a 78sc while they were on sale at West. Backordered.
    Hopefully it works better than the one you currently have. On the Yami, mount to your screw on cap storage thing. You can even get a PVC cap and not have to drill the OEM cap. You got plenty of room on that left side with that doofy right side reverse.

  9. #9
    Sea-Donkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    892
    +1
    107
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20140607_151645.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	77.1 KB 
ID:	332688

    Here's my set up while sitting above the I-10 tunnel in Mobile last Saturday. This set up is working much better than having it velcroed on the storage lid.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GoPro Custom Mount using Storage Cap on FX SVHO
    By sgama2000 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-15-2015, 03:39 PM
  2. FS magellan gps never used $50
    By gorilla03 in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 11:49 AM
  3. GARMIN colorado GPS ANYONE USE ONE?
    By giguchan in forum Kawasaki Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2008, 01:18 AM
  4. whats the best gps to use on a jetski?
    By motoman32002 in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-19-2008, 02:00 PM
  5. Ram-mount for GPS install for the Ultra250
    By Hydrotoys in forum Kawasaki How To & FAQs
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 03-01-2007, 03:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •