Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1998 Pro 785 Problems starting in the water

I recently purchased a 1998 Pro 785 with 6 hours, it literally looks like it came right off the showroom floor. The ski was being sold by a local jet ski store on consignment, prior to my purchasing they did a full tune up and test of all systems and gave the ski an A+ bill of health. Fast forward two weeks, I prepare to take it out to the lake, the ski starts out of the water no problem... I take the ski to the lake for the first time and it fails to start in the water after several attempts. I take the ski home, charge the battery, check the voltage and everything checks out. After starting it several times out of the water, I decide to take it out to the lake for a second attempt. Sure enough, once again it WON'T start in the water?!

I'm a rookie to watercraft ownership, but have ridden and been around boats and PWCs my whole life and am baffled by why this is happening. Any guidance or insight would be much appreciated!

-Robbie

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

If the shop did not water test the machine after their tuneup, then it is possible there is a problem they did not notice.

The first thing I would suspect is the battery. Is the battery new?

Use a decent quality multi-meter to measure the battery voltage while cranking the engine, with the lanyard out. The engine will not start, so you can watch the battery voltage for a few seconds while it cranks (maybe 10 seconds cranking time).

A strong battery will be able to hold the voltage well above 10.6 volts while the engine is cranking. If the voltage sags to near or below 10.6 volts then the battery is weak. Even a fully charged battery can be internally weak.

Set the MFD display to show RPM. Crank the engine and see what RPM it shows while cranking.

Hi K447-

Thanks for the welcome and prompt reply!