The Watercraft Journal: When was the JR Stars program established? What sparked the idea for you?

Bridget Hagest: JR Star Racing began in 2006-2007. Chris [Hagest] was doing the National Tour and we decided to host small clinics at each of the races to teach the juniors about safety, passing, equipment, starts, and sponsors. As a teacher, I have a passion for helping kids. As a pro rider, Chris has a passion for everything jet ski! It just made sense! It seems pretty cheesy when I look back at pictures from the early days of JR Star. We had a flip chart and markers to teach with and handed out keychains at the end of a session.

As we continued to show up at races and host these events, more and more people got involved and donated their time, expertise, product, and money. What started as small “how-to” clinics at a few National races evolved into a larger support system for juniors all around the world. Instead of just handing out keychains, now we can provide riders with amazing gifts like performance sponsons, gift certificates, GoPros, riding gear and more!

WCJ: Have you seen more kiddos racing since you started the program?

BH: As we have grown, we have certainly received more attention from juniors and their families. We have had more and more participants at our Ride with the Pros event each year since we started that. After this past year’s success, I’m sure next year will be even bigger!!

WCJ: Tell us about JR Stars Day with the Pros at the World Finals. What all do you have to do in order to make that day happen?