Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Whats the real reason we have to rebuild the superchargers every 100 hours?

It seems strange to me that we need to do a complete supercharger overhaul every 100 hours, is there an inherent design flaw that is responsible for this or just the hostile environment a supercharger goes through pumping damp air into an engine? I know about the washer issue, but have read a bit about an issue with the bearing cages being made of plastic?? I had an issue with a bearing cage on a ducati race bike last year that had a plastic race, plastic fell apart and ball bearings fell into the case.. changed the cage out for an identical bearing race/cage made of metal and have likely won't have any issues going forward. If there is an identical bearing/cage made of metal, would this extend the interval for supercharger rebuilding?

+1
    I'm not a mechanic but pretty sure it's due to the fact that you have a system that's rotating at 1000s more RPMs than the engine. Combine that with the constant and extreme variance of load on the system and you have a very harsh environment for the components to survive, especially the clutch.

+1
    bearings.

we change our bearings every 70hrs or so and beat the crap out of the chargers. on 215 and 255 and some have gone to 200+ hrs ok.
    i got jacked off with maintenance of big charger and went turbo but still have a 215 as surf machine

+1
    The oem bearings are very good, but they have a recommended max RPM of 17,000-- in a 215+ charger setup running the motor at 8100 rpm makes the bearings in the super charger spin at 42,000 rpm or something like that. They obviously work, but they will not last forever driving them this hard.

+1
    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=210643

If somebody gets an alternative we would hear it on this forum pretty soon !!

+1