Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thumbs up New 2014 FZS Owner - Proper Break In?

Just like the title states. What do you pros out there recommend for proper break in of my 2014 FZS? I've owned a 2008 SHO previously. I'm aware of not going full throttle, varying RPM's, not going to redline etc etc etc.

What I want to know is how long should I wait before I go balls out? Dealer is recommending 10 hours, but I feel like that's too long. Or at least I don't want to wait that long LOL. I feel like the rings should be set and sealed well before then.

Newbie here, my FZS is getting uncrated right now, so I'm also curious about this.

Also, THANK YOU GREENHULK! The knowledge here is extremely helpful! I walked in knowing more about these things than the dealers did.

+1
    The way I have broken in my new engines has been pretty simple.

Warm the ski up by idling around varying the throttle a little between idle and 5000 rpm for about 10 minutes making sure everything is lubed well and nothing has bound up. Never keeping same throttle.
    Then from maybe about 2,000 rpm nail it to WOT for about 2 seconds. Ride around varying the throttle a little between idle and 5000 rpm for about 5 minutes.
    Then from maybe about 2,000 rpm nail it to WOT for about 2 seconds. Ride around varying the throttle a little between idle and 5000 rpm for about 5 minutes.
    Shut the ski off and let the ski cool down for about 30 minutes.

Do the above process a total of 2 - 3 times. After the last cool down go ride and have fun!

The purpose of the hard acceleration is to seat the rings in good. If you dont seat the rings in good during the initial break in they will never seat. People buy skis or build new motors and baby it during the break in and thats the worst thing.

I did this with my skis and they have lasted a long time. I was actually racing Jim and Leo the first day out with my SeaDoo RXT and it was running for ever.

+1