Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Taking a motor out of an SUV

I have a blown motor & am going to need to have the motor out to either rebuild or to swap out for another engine. I am mechanically inclined, & have done some work to my ski (not a complete beginner).

I am looking for guidance, & advice on pulling the motor out. Mainly what needs to come off & what can stay together for ease of pulling the motor.

I have taken the plastic Air trap off the Carbs & the head off the Cylinders. I Have seen Cylenders come off with the exhaust manifold still attached, & It seems the muffler would be nice to take off in one chunk.

also how does the motor disengage the drive shaft?

Do I need to slide the motor forward?

I see there are 2 bolts holding the motor mounts to the ski & 1 bolt holding the motor to the mounts.. which do you take out?

This will definitely be the biggest job I will have performed on a ski & I am anxious. But I know that with the wealth of knowledge on here there are some great tips & secrets you all can share.

if you have taken a motor out I'm sure you have some advice & I would like to hear it!

Can anyone please help out?

Chester, Va
    Have you tried a forum search? Do you have a shop manual for the ski? I have no experience with that ski, so I'm of no use to you. I did a quick search and it appears there's a how-to on the sbt forum. Hope that helps.

Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
    just remove the single bolts that holds the motor into the rubber motor mount, and the coupler will disengage when you slide the motor forward, its best to remove the exhaust and carbs, and just about anything that will unbolt from the motor to make pulling it out easier

LOCH NESS Monster-Land

Quote Originally Posted by View Post
    Can anyone please help out?

Hey there Erik..

Unfortunately a lot of the old school guys seem to have abandoned the forum somewhat..?