Taking a motor out of an SUV 1st time some advice, insight would be apreciated!

I have posted this thread in the old school ski forum & have had no reply's... I am eager to get started but need some guidance!! I would appreciate any help!!

I have a blown motor & am going to need to have the motor out to either rebuild or to swap out for another engine. I am mechanically inclined, & have done some work to my ski (not a complete beginner).

I am looking for guidance, & advice on pulling the motor out. Mainly what needs to come off & what can stay together for ease of pulling the motor.

I have taken the plastic Air trap off the Carbs & the head off the Cylinders. I Have seen Cylenders come off with the exhaust manifold still attached, & It seems the muffler would be nice to take off in one chunk.

also how does the motor disengage the drive shaft?

Do I need to slide the motor forward?

I see there are 2 bolts holding the motor mounts to the ski & 1 bolt holding the motor to the mounts.. which do you take out?

This will definitely be the biggest job I will have performed on a ski & I am anxious. But I know that with the wealth of knowledge on here there are some great tips & secrets you all can share.

if you have taken a motor out I'm sure you have some advice & I would like to hear it!

MO. Mark Twain, LOTO
    remove exhaust, Carb rack, remove exhaust manifold, remove jet pump, as drive shaft is atatched to jet pump, your will want to check it anyways, remove only the top single bolt not the 2 base motor mounts bolts.

You dont have to pull the pump. Just pull the exhaust off along with the air box and disconnect all the wires & cables.

North Central Arkansas
    Right...... wires, cables, hoses, motor mounts, carbs, exhaust, pull it.

I pulled mine out with the complete exhaust attached. I only removed the air box and carbs to remove the engine. And I reinstalled that way too. Of course I was using a cherry picker so it made it very easy.