Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Siesta Key, Fl
    Posts
    1,066
    +1
    155

    MoTeC M130 level 2 data Logging

    So what is the limits in the Level 1 vs Level 2 data logging?

    Basically the configuration will be M130, Single LTC 4.9 sensor and Racegrade 10hz GPS on CAN Bus. Would the upgrade be needed to get enough logging for tuning and then when doing normal runs to capture GPS data?


  2. #2
    MoTeC Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    643
    +1
    28
    Hi
    I will try to keep it simple, although I am not famous for doing so.

    All levels give you 120MB of logging which is huge.
    L1 = preset diagnostic channels at a max of 10hz, you can definately do the tuning basics with it but not much more.
    Knock is the big issue, 10hz is absolutely not fast enough to see individual knock events, if it knocks bad you will see it I am sure but single knock events coming from an engine running at 8000 RPM can only be detected at a logging frequency of 100hz
    L2 = Up to 200 channels can be predefined by the user at frequencies up to 200hz
    If you are even half serious about doing a good job of tuning you should get the Level 2 upgrade, logging stuff is how you learn, its how you develop and
    keep things safe.
    L3 = Up to 1000 channels at up to 1000hz and utilising 8 different user defineable log sets. You dont need this, good for high end race teams and people with multiple engineers looking after the race car.

    Cheers

    Pete

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Siesta Key, Fl
    Posts
    1,066
    +1
    155
    Thanks for the detailed response. I thought I had read the difference before but when I went looking for the details I could not find them for the life of me. Seems that is always the way, run across stuff by accident and can never find it when actually looking for it.

    Looks like I will be adding the Lvl 2 logging

  4. #4
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    36,398
    +1
    2,524
    Quote Originally Posted by SilentShooter View Post
    Thanks for the detailed response. I thought I had read the difference before but when I went looking for the details I could not find them for the life of me. Seems that is always the way, run across stuff by accident and can never find it when actually looking for it.

    Looks like I will be adding the Lvl 2 logging

    you won't regret going with Motec!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SOLD MOTEC M400 Complete With Data Logging
    By maxadrenaline in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-12-2015, 06:13 AM
  2. Data logging Help..
    By earlequin in forum Yamaha ECU Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 08:02 AM
  3. Data Logging ??
    By Inkaddict in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 11:47 AM
  4. Big Pig's Data Logging Corrupted, HELP?
    By Gunna in forum Yamaha ECU Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 10:02 AM
  5. Data logging even for the Rotax Racing EMS
    By Green Hulk in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 01:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •