Stupid is as stupid does....

Rebuilt my carbs in my 97 gp1200 for the first time finally (I know, lol). The ski only has 80 hours on it so it's not too bad. Anyways, I went ahead and did the drilled return mod, 1.5 n/s combo and 100 pilots. Added primer and f/a's, eliminated chokes and could not get it tuned to save my life. It would run lean no matter what the adjustments. Pulled carbs 3 times and inspected to check my work. In a fit of disgust, I shut it off, put the flame arrestors on And fired it up to blow the water out. Ran like a top. Hard lesson learned lol. But on the bright side, I'm an expert at pulling the carbs now.

+1

?

Quote Originally Posted by Dad2kmr View Post
    Rebuilt my carbs in my 97 gp1200 for the first time finally (I know, lol). The ski only has 80 hours on it so it's not too bad. Anyways, I went ahead and did the drilled return mod, 1.5 n/s combo and 100 pilots. Added primer and f/a's, eliminated chokes and could not get it tuned to save my life. It would run lean no matter what the adjustments. Pulled carbs 3 times and inspected to check my work. In a fit of disgust, I shut it off, put the flame arrestors on And fired it up to blow the water out. Ran like a top. Hard lesson learned lol. But on the bright side, I'm an expert at pulling the carbs now.
    Hey there..

Good effort on rebuilding the carbs..
    - Have to say something doesn't seem right here.??

What F/A's have you refitted.? (stock.? singles.? plenum style.?)

I don't see any mention of a return line restrictor jet being fitted.
    - IF a jet hasn't been installed then your fuel pressure will be virtually zero..!!
    - NOW that would be "stupid is - AS stupid does" to quote you.

Pulling carbs = Not much fun.!!