Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Polaris SL-650 Project Ski

Hi all, new to this forum so sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place! I'm looking at picking up a 1995 SL-650 in decent shape, but the guy said he melted the electrical harness and it needs new carb covers. He said that otherwise it's in good shape and was running before that. I've been reading a lot about these but I'm wondering if this is going to be a difficult job. I'm new to jet skis but I'm fairly good with anything electric or mechanical. I'm also wondering if there's anything else I should do before I get it running as a precaution; I've seen replacing the fuel lines and fuel pump is suggested. Thank you!

Be sure to throw a compression tester on it to begin with and see what kind of compression your working with

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Trent_sl750 View Post
    Be sure to throw a compression tester on it to begin with and see what kind of compression your working with
    Probably won't be able to do that with a fried electrical harness.

It is an involved, but not impossible, job to make the repairs. More than likely you will want to pull the motor, check that the stator is still good, may need to replace it, will want to rebuild the carbs, verify the rest of the fuel and electrical systems are up to snuff, etc...

Check this out.... http://polarispwcknowledge.shorturl.com/first-things-to-do
    Last edited by K447; 05-22-2014 at 08:29 AM.

I'm going to buy it tonight. What parts are interchangeable on the SL 650 and SL 750? I'm assuming since the electrical harness is fried, that means it needs a new electrical box? Or is that a different part? Thanks again.

+1