Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Schertz, TX

Yamaha VX Sport: Good for a beginner?

I'm new to Jet Skis, I've never owned one or even been on one for that matter. My wife and I were looking at the Sea Doo Spark mainly for its low price, low gas consumption and entry level feel. They are apparently very hard to find and the only one we have found is 200 miles away and a color we don't want. The dealer near me has said the Yamaha VX Sport is a better alternative to the Spark so we looked at it today. My mom came along too since my parents were thinking of either getting one also or just helping with the payment to use it too. The VX Sport is probably the max we're willing to spend and out the door with trailer we're looking at $12,000 according to the salesman. He also told us it doesnt have a wear ring to replace and the maintenance is generally lower. I have a few questions for owners or people who's had experience with them.

How fast does it go?

What's the weigh capacity? I've only seen the 1-3 riders not a real weight limit.

Is $12,000 with trailer too much?

How would it compare in power/bang for buck to a Sea Doo GTS 130?

How much fuel per hour does it use?

Mechanicsburg, PA
    $12,000 for a vx sport is way too much even with a trailer. The dealer near me sells them for just under $8000 plus a trailer. You could get a VXR or VXS with a trailer for less than $12,000 and have a lot more machine and still have minimal maintenance.

VX Sport is a good beginner ski and arguably will be more reliable than a brand new unproven Seadoo that just came out. I'd think you would outgrow the Spark really quickly. Yes, 12,000 is overpriced. Shop around. You can often find a deal on a leftover ski. VXR will be faster. Both should get decent fuel economy. As far as I know ALL skis have some sort of wear ring.

Lafayette, LA
    Quote Originally Posted by cxk View Post
    What's the weigh capacity? I've only seen the 1-3 riders not a real weight limit.