Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Replacing a piston. First timer. Pictures

Hi guys. 2003 ultra 150 with around 100hours. I had some clogged cooling line issues that lead to an overheating. did a compression test after and got 120,120, & 60. Pulled the head to inspect the low cylinder and found it partially melted. Check out the photos. Lovely

This is my first time getting into the top end and I had some questions. I inspected the jug and luckily it seems in damn good shape? I ran my fingernails all around in it and can't feel any rough areas. That being said I was planning to reuse it. Thoughts on this? Is it ok to do that or will it cause headaches very soon?

I ordered a new 80mm wiseco piston kit and was going to drop it in. I was wondering since I'm this far in, should I also replace the rings on the other two cylinders? It's got around 100hrs and good compression and I'm probably just going to let it go but wanted a second opinion. How long are rings typically good for?

Any input is much appreciated. Thx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	105.8 KB 
ID:	330766   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	51 
Size:	80.4 KB 
ID:	330767   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	48 
Size:	103.1 KB 
ID:	330768   Click image for larger version. 

Views:	54 
Size:	95.1 KB 
ID:	330769  

We cant see the walls on the actual cylinder in question.

One thing I wouldn't do is is mix match forged vs cast pistons. Since you have it apart it should be getting a complete top end including pistons and rings. Do it once and do it right!

Change all the oil and fuel lines and invest in a tripple pisser kit, could have saved you from this mess.

Good luck

3. +1 by:

+1
    I wouldn't mix piston brands, they might be different weights and cause imbalance/vibration.

5. +1 by:

+1
    Fun stuff, I'm a first timer also doing a rebuild, I had trouble finding the wiseco kit. Where did you get it?