Page 1 of 58 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast
    +1

MSX 150 Complete overhaul. advice and information needed.

Hi there I am new to the hulk and glad to be here.

Now on to the details. A friend and myself have goten two msx 150s. The previous owner partially dissassembled the engine and realized he was in waaaaay over his head. So he added marvel mystery oil to prevent rust and that was that. Fast forward three years. The engine needs to be rebuilt and all the little internal issues that fail like the water pump gear oil pump, oil cooler.... It amazingly is not rusted at all and all parts are there. it has like 60 hours. The reason the idiot took it apart was he overfilled it and blew oil everywhere, then let it sit in salt water swelling the housing to the impeller. So he thought it was blown.
    Here is the engine bay

Now ski number two was the same but idiot did not mess with this one and I reboared the housing and used the ski for all last year, maybe 100 hours. This year I got an oil light and it went to clanging like hell. Sounds like a rod but could be many things in this engine. So a full rebuild and maybe a few internal parts as well. And the engine bay on this one is much nicer although I think it will cost more to rebuild.

Here they are on this very fine overly done trailer. Think I will sell the trailer for rebuild funds as we are splitting up the skis.

I am hoping "ripcuda" I think that was the name given to me by Randy at webber in Washington, can maybe assist. By that I mean do the rebuild
    Last edited by hill160881; 06-10-2014 at 10:36 AM.

+1
    Don't get me wrong. I can do the build myself, but if I could avoid that learning curve it would be great. I understand it's not like any engine I have built before and also there is no engine manual available. Also I am surprised not to find a step by step rebuild thread with pictures?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1