Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2002 Virage i troubles

New to the forum. I have two skis...the 1200 is never a problem (carbs) but the 800 (fuel injected) is being a PITA. Starts...but does not idle long and shuts off. It will ride but needs constant throttle to idle. All seems fine, display working well, ran some injector cleaner, but still no joy. I am very familiar with the carb ski but this one...aaarrrggghh. Any pointers would be appreciated. This ski is used by the casual riders so it needs to be easy. The other ski is too fast and needs an experienced hand to ride so I need to get this one back in good order. I am a complete novice at fuel injection so be easy on me with the explanations. I am thinking it might be the throttle sensor?
    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by K447; 06-13-2014 at 10:22 PM.

+1
    do you get the red light flashing on the display? Quick thought is throttle position sensor, but could be many things. start with that, and the factory plugs BTW.

No red light, and plugs are new NGK.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

What is the service history on the Virage i?
    What model year?

Has the TPS sensor ever been changed? If the Throttle Position Sensor is going bad it can cause all sorts of weird symptoms.

Try this test. Does not always work, but easy to do.
    Find the 3-pin connector for the TPS (somewhere around the rear end of the throttle bodies). Unplug the TPS. Now start the engine. Does it now idle properly, at a stable 1150 RPM? If yes, the TPS is likely bad.

If the engine does not start with the TPS unplugged, then your EMM is one that requires the TPS be connected for starting. This does not prove the TPS is good or bad. TPS could still be bad.