Wave Raider won't rev past 3000 rpm

I'm new to jet skiing and the forum--I rode my brother-in-law's Wave Raider 1100 last summer (my first time on a jet ski) and decided I had to have one. So a few weeks ago, I bought a matching pair of '95 Wave Raider 700s. One of them--the one my wife rides--runs great. The other one, not so much--how is it that I always get the short end of the stick? I have a little mechanical knowledge and access to a first-class auto mechanic, but that's really not helping much. I've had the ski on the water three times now. If I'm idling, which it doesn't do very well, and I pull on the throttle hard it'll rev up to somewhere in the neighborhood of 3500 to 4000 rpm and stay there for a while until it builds up a little speed and all of a sudden jumps to 6000 and we take off. As long as I stay at WOT it'll run fine. If I let off on the throttle and pull on it again before I slow down too much it'll pick up where it left off. If I let off on the throttle and let it slow down, though, I have to do the whole speed build up thing all over again.