Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

2002 Genesis engine stopped, any pointers?

Hi all, I am new to the site but hope someone may be able to help me. The model is a 2002 polaris genesis injected model.

Went out on the skis, 1st time this yr and after around an hr of riding the genesis it just stopped lost all engine power. It sill had enough power to turn over the engine but would not fire.

We got it home and it doesn't appear to have any spark, but also the plugs are dry, and cannot smell fuel so not sure if its getting fuel either.

I am new to this ski so any pointers or things I could check myself would be great, so any advice appreciated.

Thanks Daz
    Last edited by K447; 06-16-2014 at 08:30 PM.

+1
    sad but probably the computer went out. Its expensive to fix, and there are companies out there that repair them. Had that exact things happen to mine. The stator key way went out, ruined my stator and computer. A common problem about a grand wont fix though! There are some good articles on this engine and topic. Search the forums.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Did the engine just suddenly stop while you were riding, or did it just not want to start again after you turned it off?

See my signature links for some useful info.

Are you able to do some diagnostics?

First thing I suggest is bypassing the LR-503 module. I don't recall exactly where it is located on your model year Genesis. Some years have it tucked behind the MFI display, access via a small panel when the hood is open. Other models have it strung along the wire harness somewhere.

Elsewhere I have posted how to insert a wire jumper to allow the engine to crank and start with the LR-503 module unplugged.