What to pay: 2004 Yamaha FX HO? Plus some other questions.

Hello all,

I am trying to figure out what would be a appropriate price to pay for a 2004 Yamaha FX High Output (no trailer).

It's just under 150 hours. I have not seen it in person yet, will try to see it tomorrow. The owner claims that he has done all of the maintenance himself, so he does not have any receipts or service records. He said he took very good care of it (looks good in pictures, but as we all know, pictures can be deceiving), but I do believe him from talking to him on the phone. He said he recently changed the oil and plugs. Washed and flushed after every use. I live in south florida, so I am assuming that every pwc has been used in salt water, no matter what the owners might say.

So my questions are:

What would you personally pay for it if its in good condition?

What do I need to inspect on it? Anything I need to look out for on this model?

This is my first time buying a waverunner/jet ski. I have never owned one in the past. I have ridden on a few rental VX110's, but never even looked at a FX, so this will be a first.

My goal is to buy a lower priced waverunner right now, ride it for a year or two, and then buy something newer after I have learned more about them.

Thank you for all your help in advance! I'm looking forward to joining you guys out on the water soon, and learning more about these machines!

In North Carolina I would not pay more than $3500 for it in perfect condition.
    Florida market may be different so keep doing your research.
    Good luck to you.

Miami, Fl
    Well, i believe you are doing the best thing is to go used and learn so then you dont destroy a 16k ski due to rookie mistakes. The fx models are fairly simple skis and basically bullet proof. Test ride the ski in the water15 minutes should be good. Go through the entire rpm band. If nothing beeps or sounds funny then its good.