Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help with replacing fuel lines

So I realize I need to replace the old gray Tempo lines in my 2000 Virage TX based on what some have pointed out to me in other posts. I found the links to understand that I need about 20 ft of marine grade fuel line which I'm hoping the auto parts store has. I'm very new to doing this type of work, but I understand it's not very difficult. But I want to make sure I have my bases covered. Am I going to have to remove any other parts to replace the fuel lines or should all lines be accessible to me? Also, do you need to pinch off the line at all when taking the existing clamps off and pulling the existing lines to prevent fuel spillage? What other things do I need to consider or do in order to prep for this job. I want to learn how to do this type of work on my own, but still very new to it.

Once I get those replaced, I intend to clean out the carbs. Do I need to use a carb rebuild kit or just get some carb cleaner and disassemble, clean, and rebuild? Anything to pay close attention to while doing this?

Thanks in advance.

+1
    First of all get a fire extinguisher. Use the one from the ski or better yet one from your house. Get it out and have it ready and handy, NEVER work around gas without one. With all those fumes around it is just a matter of time 'til they are the right mixture and find a spark. Even a few gallons of gas in a tank will catch your house, cars or other jet skis on fire.

Dont worry about pinching the line, not on, no pump pressure or siphon.

The lines on the engine are easy. I tried to cut the bands but found working them with a screwdriver to move the slot up past the catch works well for me. Drain the gas tank into a gas can.

You will have to undo the front bolt on the white lollipop gas tank brace, the BIG fuel and oil fill hoses and the rubber straps to move the gas tank up into the front compartment. Dont be freaked out, it is easy.