Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2003 MSX 140 Problem - I need help!

Hi Guys-

So I've been working on an Ski that I bought off craigslist. When we purchased it we knew it had a piston down. We went through the motor, replaced the piston and got it running. That is the good news...

The bad news is that it will not idle. I can take it out on the lake and it runs great as long as I give it anywhere from a tiny bit of gas to full throttle. As soon as I let off the throttle it kills, it doesn't spit and sputter, it just dies - almost like hitting the kill switch.

I live in Wisconsin and I can't find anyone in my area who knows much about these skis, so I'm coming to the Green Hulk for help. My best guess is some sort of electrical short or there isn't enough fuel pressure to keep it idling when I let off the gas, but what do I know, I'm a friggin amateur.

Please respond with any advice you may have. I appreciate any help I can get!

Banned User
    +1
    First of all where in wisconsin are you? I am in milwaukee.

Low fuel pressure would allow the motor to idle.

The first thing is the spark plugs. NGK PZFR6H are the only plugs that will work in this motor. Nothing else will work properly.

If you have the correct plugs the next suspect would probably be the TPS. Really the only test for this is to swap in a known good one.

It would be a good thing to check the fuel pressure. The regualtor is known to fall off in the tank. Low fuel pressure usually caused running issues at higher speeds rather than at idle.

I live in the Menomonie area, between Eau Claire and Minneapolis/St. Paul.

I forgot to mention it in my first post, but we replaced the TPS as we had heard that was a common problem.

I'm not sure on the spark plugs, I will check those when I get home tonight. Hopefully, its that and it will be an easy fix.