Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Newbie bought a '97 Kawasaki 900 STX, rebuilding it

Hello all. I'm new to PWC(s) but am mechanically inclined. I bought a '97 Kawasaki 900 STX off of Craigslist with a "bad starter" knowing fully what I was likely getting myself into. I got it home and quickly determined that the engine was locked up so I pulled it from the ski. From there I also determined that the jet pump is locked up.

Since I bought it for essentially free and I like working on things I've decided to fix it up. I'm really looking for advice as to what I should make sure I pay attention to so that it will be reliable in the future.

I've ordered:

- SBT Refurb Engine
    - Jet pump rebuild kit
    - Refurb SBT impeller
    - Carb rebuild kits
    - All the gaskets
    - Premix conversion kit

I've already pulled the engine and jetpump from the ski and all my new parts will be here on Monday. I'm planning on removing the fuel tank and cleaning it good, replacing the fuel filter, replacing all the fuel lines, rebuilding the carbs, overhauling the jet pump, converting to premix, and putting the refurb engine in.

Anything else I should pay close attention to? Any good information as to how I do the alignment of the motor and jetpump? I'm trying to do this job right so that I can trust that this ski will be reliable into the future.

+1
    Welcome aboard, Jesse!

Wish you had come here sooner. 'SBT' and 'reliable' usually aren't used in the same sentence. But who knows, you might get lucky.

Shims are used under the engine mount to align it to the driveshaft. If there were any when you took the old engine out, put them in the same place with the new one and it should be close. You may have to fine-tune it.

You might change the fuel filter, or backflush it. Inspect the hoses and replace any that are brittle and/or cracked.