Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

+1

New member, picked up a project 1994 SLT 750 today

Hi all, my name is Kevin and I live in Sedalia, MO. I picked up a project 1994 SLT 750 today for $100 off a local classified ad. Needless to say, it requires work. I am currently an auto mechanic and am good with mechanical things, so I'm not afraid to jump in and get it done. I've wanted a jet ski for a number of years now, and when I found this one locally for $100, I figured I can't really do wrong, but I probably did; time will tell. The jet ski is in decent condition, a little dirty and the decals a little faded. As I will explain, it needs a bunch done to it.

The guy I got it from says he bought it for $300 last year and it supposedly ran. When he tried to get it running, he found that the crankshaft had broken and it destroyed the engine. So, needless to say, I need to find an engine for it. From the little knowledge I've picked up so far, all I have engine related is the three carbs and air cleaner. I've been hunting for either a decent used engine or one to rebuild; I see several lower halves with the crankshaft on ebay so I'd need the three "jugs", pistons, and whatever else to complete it. I guess a positive thing is, the rest of the drive is there; it appears that everything from the impeller shaft that connects to the engine to what's outside the boat is there. It also appears that all the fuel lines are there along with the fuel pump (if it's what is mounted on the carb assembly) and some kind of sediment bowl that still has gas in it. The shaft turns free and the steering and reverse linkages are still connected and work fine. The jet ski still has the fuel tank in it and what appears to be most of the wiring, but until I get it all out and on the bench I don't know if it's salvageable or not. It will also need the electronic box.