Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Salt Water Engine Maintenance

I just bought a new 2014 VX Cruiser Waverunner, I am new to the PWC world. I have been reading up but I can't really find a definitive answer on what anti corrosion product should be used to spray your engine down with after a Salt Water ride? Some people say it should be a marine silicone based product. Others say absolutely do not use silicone because it cracks after a while. I bought a few cans of the XPS Anti corrosion spray that BRP sells. But this is not silicone based.

Some people said to spray WD40 all over the engine...but I refuse to do that.

The dealer even told me not to lightly rinse the salt off the engine after I use it. So I can't really trust what the dealer tells me because that makes no sense whatsoever.

I was also told to use the Rust Check spray in a green can but that's an oily mess so I don't want to use that either.

Any suggestions?

dblandford,

I hear you I read up within forums here and learned many experienced owners use and recommend: FLUID FILM see below from their web page.

http://www.fluid-film.com/products/properties.html

FLUID FILM Aerosol & Non-Aerosol Pump

Product Data: #207
    Effective October 2013

FLUID FILM is a penetrant and lubricant also used for corrosion prevention. It is a non-toxic, long lasting, thixotropic liquid that has been used for over fifty years in the highly corrosive marine environment of ships and offshore drilling rigs. More recently they have been introduced and successfully utilized in the aerospace, aircraft and automobile industries as well as for home maintenance. Facilities where they are used include the following: government facilities, commercial fishing concerns, gas companies, agriculture, salt plants, municipal plants, power plants, manufacturing plants and pulp and paper mills.