New 95 750 SLT Owner Needs Help

Hello,
    I'm a newbie. I recently purchased a cabin and it came with a 1995 Polaris 750 slt. It was not taken care of very well by the previous owner. They told me all it needed was a battery. I did that and changed the spark plugs, put new fuel and oil in as well. I was able to get it started. It seemed to run well for awhile until I noticed tubes with a screened end on them melted to the exhaust. Now it will not stay running very long and will not go very fast. Can anyone tell me where I can find these hoses and where are they supposed to go, and is this why it is not running well or has major damage been done? I would appreciate anyone's input on this as I am not familiar with these machines. If someone could also tell me general maintenance on them would be great too. Thanks!

+1
    Weldome to the Hulk!!

If the tubes with screened ends are clear, or could have been clear at one time, they are bilge siphon hoses. Melting these will not cause the ski to run poorly. However, the fact that the exhaust was hot enough to melt them, is of concern. You will want to perform a compression test to see what condition your cylinders are in.

Fuel system update and maintenance including carb rebuilds are practically mandatory for this age of ski.

Lots of good info here: Http://PolarisPWCknowledge.shorturl.com

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

See my signature links for a place to get started learning about these machines.

The exhaust overheated, which means there was not enough or no cooling water being injected in to the exhaust flow. Why was there no water injection?

Could have been a general lack of cooling water to the entire engine (which would not be good). Or just a blocked water orifice in the exhaust pipe.