1994 SL650 in Phoenix, AZ - Getting it going...

Hey, everyone! Newbie here.

per the intro to this thread, here is some background info on myself and my ski:

Where u from? Phoenix, AZ
    what kind of ski? Polaris SL 650
    what year? 1994
    what kind of engine? Blue
    how many hours on the meter? Ha
    how long did it sit? 3+ years
    any new/modified parts on it? Triple outlet pump, new (to me) carburetor, fuel filter, battery, plugs, carb diaphragms, fuel lines.
    recent tune-ups or rebuild. In the process of finishing the rebuild.
    general history of the ski if you know. Sat for years, carb was full of water/rust.
    price? Next to nuthin.
    comes with trailer? Yes.
    live on water? No.
    did the ski run on saltwater or normal lake water? Lake
    compression numbers? Haven't tested, but has at least some!
    does it run? It idled for a few seconds last night, but nothing since.
    Pictures,videos? Coming soon...
    mechanical knowledge? I'm a plumber, electrician, and general tinkerer!

That said, after taking the whole dang thing apart, and putting it back together, I tried firing it up, but I only got it to idle for a few seconds before I hit the kill switch (I didn't have water hooked up to it at the time). Once I hooked up the hose, I tried to start it again, but I haven't gotten it to fire since. I see the fuel in the new clear hoses from the carb to the pump moving towards the carb slowly when cranking, but I'm not sure it's making its way there fully.

Some bits of info:

There was oil in the pulse line that I think I drained all the way (I put a lot in when putting the motor back together).

there was a LOT of smoke being produced when I was first trying to get it running, but not very much anymore.

The plugs do have spark.

The battery is new and fully charged.

The fuel lines are new and free of obstruction. (Not the lines inside the tank, though. Those looked ok)

i have the water separator bypassed for now.